Restaurant review: Moonshine that you can eat

Disclaimer: I received no compensation for this review and paid for the entire meal myself.

Not that long ago my friend, Nikabee, and I went to Moonshine for dinner.  While it is a ways from where we both live, she had been there before and thought I would like it as well.


Moonshine’s website calls it an “urban roadhouse” which is a description that totally works. It is gritty without being dirty, a little bit country and a little bit rock and roll….sorry couldn’t help it!  Basically, I could see wearing a sundress and sandals there or a pair of jeans and boots and fitting in either way. I wouldn’t dress up dress up but if you want to why not right?

Overall I felt comfortable and we were seated by the main windows. Being on Division St meant great people watching.  People watching when not inhaling my food that is. We skipped drinks and just got food. I could see stopping in for a beer if I lived in the area or was in the area.


I ordered the Applewood Smoked Bacon Burger with a side of sweet potato fries.

YUM YUM YUM.

I like my burgers well done and this was cooked exactly like I like it. The cheese was melted but not baked on. The bacon wasn’t super chewy – can’t stand wobbly bacon!  The fried onions was battered and fried. It looked like a giant onion ring. If they sold them as onion rings, I’d get them in a heartbeat. Neither greasy nor soggy means a winner to me. The bun had a good squish factor but not smushy (yes these are my technical terms) so that you could eat it without it refusing to budge and then launching the fillings across the plate.

The sweet potato fries were excellent. If we were there for just something to snack on or something to eat while having a beer, that would be a definite option.

The service was attentive without being annoying.  Add that to good food and good atmosphere. Overall, if I am in the area again, I will definitely be back.

Leave a comment