Season’s Readings: 12 Days of Book-mas – A great gift for someone who enjoys holiday classics

bookmas14

A great gift for someone who enjoys holiday classics

  • Name of book:The Night Before Christmas (Little Golden Book)
  • Author: Clement Clarke Moore
  • What is about: This is the classic Christmas poem with 1949 illustrations.
  • Why you like it/recommend it: When I think Christmas stories, this is one of the ones that immediately comes to mind. It is a simple story that can be read and shared by all ages.
Advertisements

Season’s Readings: 12 Days of Book-mas – A great gift for fans of Tina Fey, Saturday Night Live, or fans of comedy in general

bookmas14

As part of this series, I am also sharing recommendations from others. Today’s book recommendation comes from Kelly at Brownies and Zucchini.

A great gift for fans of Tina Fey, Saturday Night Live, or fans of comedy in general.

  • Name of book: Bossypants
  • Author: Tina Fey
  • What is about: It is a comedy book about various happenings and stories from Tina Fey’s life.
  • Why you like it/recommend it: I am not a huge book reader, but this book hooked me from the beginning and though there are serious instances in the book, it stays funny through the very end.
  • Other things people should know (part of a series, now a movie, etc) Tina Fey actually reads the audiobook version, and I’ve heard that makes it even more hilarious!

Please note: Links found within this post are NOT affiliate links and I receive no compensation for any potential purchases.

Season’s Readings: 12 Days of Book-mas – A great gift for the beginner knitter

bookmas14

A great gift for the beginner knitter

  • Name of book: Stitch ‘n Bitch: The Knitter’s Handbook
  • Author: Debbie Stoller
  • What is about: This book is a mix of knitting basics and actual patterns with full color photos of each project. How to fix mistakes is also included. Everything is approachable for the brand-new knitter
  • Why you like it/recommend it: This was one of the first knitting books I ever read. It has been part of my crafty book collection ever since.
  • Other things people should know: This is the first of several Stitch ‘n Bitch knitting books by Debbie Stoller.

Please note: Links found within this post are NOT affiliate links and I receive no compensation for any potential purchases.

Season’s Readings: 12 Days of Book-mas – A gift for a cat person

bookmas14

A great gift for a cat person

  • Name of book: How to Tell if Your Cat is Plotting to Kill You
  • Author: The Oatmeal and Matthew Inman
  • What is about: This is a collection of cat themed comics from TheOatmeal.com as well as 15 new cat related comics.
  • Why you like it/recommend it: As a staff person to three cats, I am consystantly present to their antics. Numerous comics in this collection make me nod or shake my head since it reminds me of something one of mine have done or could see them doing.
  • Other things people should know (part of a series, now a movie, etc): The book comes with a fold-out poster.

Please note: Links found within this post are NOT affiliate links and I receive no compensation for any potential purchases.

Season’s Readings: 12 Days of Book-mas – A great gift for pretty much anyone, but women in particular

bookmas14

As part of this series, I am also sharing recommendations from others. Today’s book recommendation comes from Mindy from just a one girl revolution.

A great gift for pretty much anyone, but women in particular

  • Name of book: Cold Tangerines: Celebrating the Extraordinary Nature of Everyday Life
  • Author: Shauna Niequist
  • What is about: Cold Tangerines by Shauna Niequist is a collection of stories about celebrating the extraordinary moments in the everyday
  • Why you like it/recommend it: I super love this book because it’s one that deeply moved me and I connected with Shauna’s stories in a very vibrant way. I can always pick up this book and somehow, it resonates with wherever I am at in my life journey. It is a great gift for pretty much anyone, but women in particular. I’ve met women of all ages who love Shauna’s stories, but I think it really resonates with women in their late 20s/early 30s.

Please note: Links found within this post are NOT affiliate links and I receive no compensation for any potential purchases.

Season’s Readings: 12 Days of Book-mas – A great gift for a newbie gardener

bookmas14

A great gift for a newbie gardener

  • Name of book: Kiss My Aster: A Graphic Guide to Creating a Fantastic Yard Totally Tailored to You
  • Author: Amanda Thomsen
  • What is about: This is a gardening guide filled with wit, great illustrations, and most importantly ideas on how you can start planning out how to make the spaces your own style.
  • Why you like it/recommend it: After seeing Amanda Thomsen speak and reading her book, my way of thinking regarding my gardening changed for the better (more creativity and less stress.)  Amanda knows what she is talking about and having that knowledge in a book that reminds me of a graphic novel makes it very approachable especially for those who have become bored by more hum drum gardening books.
  • Other things people should know (part of a series, now a movie, etc): This is not a step-by-step dictionary-style how-to garden book.

Please note: Links found within this post are NOT affiliate links and I receive no compensation for any potential purchases.

Season’s Readings: 12 Days of Book-mas – A great gift for someone who loves history and the macabre

bookmas14

As part of this series, I am also sharing recommendations from others. Today’s book recommendation comes from Michelle at Hit the Bricks.

A great gift for someone who loves history and the macabre

  • Name of book: The Devil in the White City
  • Author: Erik Larson
  • What it is about: This book tells the story of the architect in charge of making the 1893 Chicago World Fair a success while also telling about the serial killer who capitalized on the surge in population that the fair brought.
  • Why I like/recommend it: I love horror and true crime. This book gave me a chance to indulge while also learning about some history that I didn’t know much about.
  • Other things people should know: Rumor has it Leonardo DiCaprio has bought the rights to this book to turn it into a movie.

Please note: Links found within this post are NOT affiliate links and I receive no compensation for any potential purchases.