Trying a New Pinterest Recipe: Healthy Turkey Meatballs

TANR_P

When crazy storms tore through the Chicagoland area earlier this month, there were numerous power outages. Our house was smack dab in the middle of one of them. The fridge ended up running on a borrowed generator but the stove sat mocking me as we ate takeout and deli sandwiches for a few days. I missed real food and Nikabee came to the rescue. She invited me over for a dinner that included great turkey meatballs. Before I had even left her house, the link to the pin of Luv a Bargain’s Healthy Turkey Meatballs was in my inbox.

Here is my breakdown of this recipe.

  • Ingredients shopping:  Easy. I just needed to get the ground turkey. Since this is often on my weekly list and readily available where I shop, this was really easy. The panko breadcrumbs I had picked up, but never used, for a different recipe and so they were already in the pantry.
  • Prep: Easy. Basic cutting and measuring
  • Cooking: Easy. I used a 11 x 17 glass Pyrex baking dish to be sure they were spaced out. The other glass baking dish I have is a smaller square which would have had them too close together.
  • Make it again: Definitely! I had to stop myself from eating too many of them straight from the baking dish. I also like having meatball options for parties and potlucks that I put with sauce in a slow cooker. This worked really well with a basic homemade tomato sauce.
  • Modify it: Yes. I could see myself altering the amount of onion and/or garlic depending on who else would be eating it.
  • Works for leftovers: Yes. I actually made this the night before we actually had it for dinner. True, I was snacking on them straight from the oven but that was standing at the counter and not sitting at the kitchen table.
Leave a Reply

