Trying a New Online Recipe: Spinach Lasagna III

I love spinach. Though I often eat it in salads, in sandwiches, and by itself topped with a bit of butter and sea salt, my favorite way is in a pasta dish. The idea to make spinach lasagna got stuck in my head and I knew it wouldn’t go away until I actually made it. The last time I tried winging it and it ended up more mixed pasta dish than lasagna. This time I wasn’t messing around and while looking up a recipe online, I found allrecipes.com’s Spinach Lasagna III.

Here is my breakdown of this recipe.

  • Ingredients shopping: Easy/medium – I didn’t have all the cheeses so I had to track them down in sizes that would work for the recipe. Everything else was either already in the kitchen or easily found at the grocery store.
  • Prep: Easy/medium – Basic cutting and measuring plus multiple steps for the filling. Layering the noodles takes a bit of patience but as long as you don’t rush the placement it works out.
  • Cooking: Easy – Sautéing veggies was easy. Once the dish was in the oven, all I had to do was set the timer.
  • Make it again: DEFINITELY! It was cheesy and delicious and satisfied my wanting spinach lasagna.
  • Modify it: Yes. The leftover mushrooms I intended to use had gone bad in the fridge. Since I wasn’t going out for one item, I substituted asparagus.
  • Works for leftovers: Yes. I made just shy of the full recipe (since I bought slightly less ricotta) which is TWELVE servings. We both ate it several days and gave some away. It also reheated extremely well in the microwave.
4 thoughts on “Trying a New Online Recipe: Spinach Lasagna III

  1. I’m pretty sure I’ve told you this before, but I love how you write these recipe reviews! Short and to the point, with all of the things that I want to know before making a random recipe.

    And I know lasagna isn’t the most photogenic thing, but I do wish there was a photo. Photos are usually the things that sway me to make recipe, even if it has things in it that I don’t love.

Leave a Reply

