Come to the Craft Side…. We Have Yarn.

Obviously, I have yarn. I just love the opportunity for a pun on a pun using Star Wars dialogue, or would it be a cookie joke pun?

Sure, whatever.

Right now there is a pretty good chance there is yarn in every room in the house other than the downstairs bathroom. I know there is none in that bathroom since I removed the skein that was hanging out with the beach towels and the two boxes that were in the bathtub over six months ago. Yes, I am serious about the bathtub.  It was temporarily out-of-order and the boxes needed a place to go. In the knitter portion of my brain, it made perfect sense. In the rest, it didn’t and agreed with 100% of Darth Husband’s brain that I was crazy.

So even if it might only be a bit of yarn here and there, like the bit on the laundry room shelf or in the back of one the roller drawers in the upstairs bathroom, it is everywhere. Darth Husband has slowly gotten used to it or has just gotten less outwardly grumbly about it. Since my last yarn purchase was sometime around November, I think that helps as well… for now.

I know I suffer from the same affliction as other knitters, and most likely crocheters as well though I only knit, that makes it hard to walk away from the fibrous siren song of a local yarn store or a larger craft store. There have been too many times to count where I say I am just looking and then don’t leave empty-handed. Then there are the times that have good plans but lack of fruition.

Sock yarn is so pretty… and small… and I don’t knit socks.

The bathtub boxes migrated to a spare bedroom after repairs were made and before Jess arrived for her week-long vacation last summer. This was also when I decided to get more serious on a project I had started back in November 2012: Ten Stitch Blanket by Frankie Brown. (Fellow Ravelry members, you can find it here.)

Right now, there is a knitter nodding and a non-knitter thinking “TWO THOUSAND TWELVE?!?!”  I never just have one work in progress, or WIP, at a time. Some get set aside for another, because I was just sick of working on it, or because it wasn’t working out how I had hoped. For a long time, I was knitting for other people and my personal projects took a back burner. I wasn’t getting paid nor was there a deadline so my projects could wait. Things have changed and I’ve been a selfish knitter lately.

It is all about me… and a giant batch of retro yarn.

I like using “retro yarn” rather than “old yarn” since the colorways scream 70s/80s. Think burnt orange, mustard yellow, avocado green, and muddy tan. There are some lighter and somewhat pastel at time colors as well but the bulk more the former than the latter. When it is done, It is going to be hideously awesome.

One thought on “Come to the Craft Side…. We Have Yarn.

Leave a Reply

