Makeup is not my makeup

I wear makeup. Makeup is not my makeup.

If you are scratching your head, let me let Google’s definition help you.

make·up
ˈmākˌəp/
noun
1.
cosmetics such as lipstick or powder applied to the face, used to enhance or alter the appearance.
synonyms: cosmetics, maquillage; greasepaint, face paint; informal war paint
“she used excessive makeup”
2.
the composition or constitution of something.
“studying the makeup of ocean sediments”
synonyms: composition, constitution, structure, configuration, arrangement, organization, formation
“the cellular makeup of plants”

Makeup debates are nothing new yet when I see some pop up I fight the urge to stomp my feet like an angry toddler. Some debates do deserve the stomp and even the time to dig out a decent pair of heels to make the “thunk, thunk, thunk” loud enough to make Bam-Bam Rubble proud. However, the more and more I see of some topics, I feel like any dinosaurs associated with thunking would be from Jurassic Park rather than Bedrock.

Cue the velociraptors!

Cue the velociraptors wearing lipstick!

If you do not wear makeup you are being brave.

Again, I’m going to get some help from Google definitions:

brave
brāv/
adjective
adjective: brave; comparative adjective: braver; superlative adjective: bravest
1.
ready to face and endure danger or pain; showing courage.
“a brave soldier”
synonyms: courageous, valiant, valorous, intrepid, heroic, lionhearted, bold,fearless, gallant, daring, plucky, audacious

I’ve omitted the other definitions since the focus is more so using the word as an adjective.

I’ve seen this used as a blanket statement. No M.A.K.E.U.P. means B.R.A.V.E.

When I think of bravery, I think of firefighters rushing into a burning building. Going off of the example above of “a brave soldier”, I think of the families and friends of that soldier back home. I think of the person headed to their next session of chemo.I think of that husband or wife who has lost their spouse trying to get their normal, or now newly normal, routine going again.

Walking out of the house without lipstick is a choice. Buying or not buying that lipstick is a choice. Buying or not buying makeup, or any other cosmetic item, is a choice. My choice can impact what happens to me or how others react but isn’t that with any choice?

I can choose not to buy deodorant. I can choose not to buy deodorant and so on a warmer day I’d end up pretty stinky. (Maybe others can get away smelling like a rose but there’d be nothing rose-like in my case.) I can choose not to pay attention to other people’s reactions to my stinky self sitting next to them. I can choose not to react to their reactions or I can just buy and wear deodorant and not have to deal with that situation.

I know I am making it very trivial when talking about deodorant but the goal is to make it something simple. I’m not talking about body image, self esteem, etc and that point. Those are all legit debates that have been covered well as well as very poorly.

I wear makeup because I enjoy doing so. I am an artist or have at least considered myself one for as long as I can remember. I’d rather have a stack of coloring books (as I did) when I was younger than a bin full of baseballs, basketballs, and whatnot. A brand new pack of crayons were magical and full of so many creative possibilities. That is how I see makeup.
One thought on “Makeup is not my makeup

  1. I completely agree. I wish more women were totally at ease with not wearing makeup, so that it wasn’t such a big deal when they don’t. I only wear makeup for special events – weddings, special nights out, family photos, etc. Sometimes, on a daily basis, I *may* decide to wear a little mascara for pop, but that’s rare.

    Just goes back to how comfortable are you with who YOU really are.

Leave a Reply

