Spring Fever VoxBox

Sometimes all it takes to find a new favorite product is reading an online review and giving something a chance.  Then there is Influenster which gives me both the chance to try something new and give it an online review.  I first learned about Influenster from Erin via her reviews on A Girl and Her Mutt and decided to give it a try as well.

When the Spring Fever VoxBox arrived in my mailbox, the contents of little purple box immediately got my attention: four beauty products and one chocolate covered snack!

SFVoxBox

  • Secret Outlast Clear Gel Antiperspirant/Deodorant (list price $4.59)
  • NYC New York Color Applelicious Glossy Lip Balm (list price: $2.99)
  • Broadway Nails imPRESS Press-on Manicure (list price: $5.99 – $7.99)
  • Schwarzkopf Professional OSiS Gelastic ($18.00)
  • Tastykake Kandy Bar Kakes -Peanut Butter (list price: $4.49 per box)

Secret Outlast Clear Gel Antiperspirant/Deodorant

I have been a long-time user of Secret but had not yet tried this specific antiperspirant/deodorant. With the temperatures bouncing around lately, we’ve gotten some really warm days and that meant sleeveless for me. The claim that it “leaves fewer white marks on clothes than the next leading invisible solid” was true for me – no white marks. The details included “48 hr odor and wetness protection.” I can’t say it lasted that long for me since there’s no way I can skip my daily showers especially on hot days but during each day I used the product, I was very satisfied. I didn’t have to worry at all about possibly being the stinky lady on the homebound train. Most importantly, I liked Secret Outlast Clear Gel Antiperspirant/Deodorant so much that I purchased one on my own during a recent trip to Target.

NYC New York Color Applelicious Glossy Lip Balm

I already have NYC nail color and lipstick so I had a feeling that I could like their NYC New York Color Applelicious Glossy Lip Balm. Tinted lip balm was the first kind of makeup that I wore. Even years (and years and years) later, I still keep it as a default in my makeup bag. The key to a good glossy lip balm to me is shine without being sticky, a subtle but visible tint, and good for my lips. Yes, yes, and yes for the Big Apple Red that arrived in my box. If I had seen all the colors in a store this red is one that I would have picked up since it had a bit of a slight pink edge to the red. The lip balm is scented but not flavored. This works perfectly since sometimes a flavor is a miss for me. What also worked perfectly was wearing it during some of my morning commutes and for the majority of that remaining day. Even if I am not wearing any other makeup, I wear a lip product of some sort. If I don’t my lips dry out. The Applelicious Glossy Lip Balm contains a “apple-shaped core” filled with “Shea Butter, Jojoba Oil, Vitamin E and Avocado Oil” and I could tell the difference after wearing it. I’m also planning to pick up a few more colors in the future: “Apple Blueberry Pie” and “Garnet Gala.” Safe to say, I really liked this product!

Broadway Nails imPRESS Press-on Manicure

I like funky nails in terms of colors and patterns but not length. No crazy claws for me! Realistically, I don’t like super long nails in general. When I opened Broadway Nails imPRESS Press-on Manicure, I was happy to see that they were a good length. I wasn’t too worried that I’d be hindered by them once they were on as well. That is extremely important for me since what is the point of having cute nails if you can’t do anything!

The pattern I received was “Sexy Fresh” and came with two color combos: pink/orange/white and purple/blue/white.

Better photo since the one above was after I opened the packing.

Better photo since the one above was after I opened the package.

I decided to wear the pink/orange/white set as part of my outfit for the Ke$sha/Pitbull concert I was attending with friends since it matched my bright pink t-shirt.

The BFF was getting ready at my house and so she helped me out with sorting the press-on nails. This color combo had ten of twenty-four nails in the pack. I was a little surprised that there weren’t half of each color. The nail beds of my ring and pinky fingers were slightly wider than the nails but only one nail was really noticeable. After the prep stage, putting on the nails was a little awkward at first. It is a pretty simple combo of peeling off the little clear plastic strip on the inside and then pressing it on. One nail went on slightly crooked because I misjudged it. Once it starts sticking, it really starts sticking.  Staying on though is the key point of these.  For the price, I wouldn’t want it to only last one day, or in this case, one night.

With the nails are slightly longer than my usual nails at their longest length, it took my a little time to get used to them. It also really made me realize how I use the tip of my fingertips to do things like use my phone.  By the time we got to the concert, about 45 mins after putting them on, the only thing I was noticing was how cute the pattern was and had forgotten mostly about the length.  The nails lasted four days before they started getting really loose and I took them off. I’m hard on my nails to begin with so I was quite content with how long they lasted. I think if I had paid more attention to being more careful, and type really loudly, they would have lasted even longer.

I looked up other styles of Broadway Nails imPRESS Press-on Manicure and found that they have both patterns, solids, and French style manicure.  I could see buying another set after I wear the blue/purple/white combo but only as a pattern.  I don’t have a steady enough hand to end up with polish painted patterns so this is a fast fix for funky nails.

Schwarzkopf Professional OSiS Gelastic

My hair has been revolting lately and deciding that I need a fuzzy halo due to the humidity. OK, technically it looks more like a mini Bozo the Clown frizz above my ears. We have another busy weekend this weekend including watching the Blackhawks game with friends. My plan is to keep my hairstyle in check using Schwarzkopf Professional OSiS Gelastic while I’m yelling at the game.  My hair is one thing I don’t want causing me any stress. Hockey games give me enough things to stress about! I’ll be giving a full review with photos in the near future.

Tastykake Kandy Bar Kakes -Peanut Butter

The Tastykake Kandy Bar Kakes come in three flavors: S’mores, Peppermint, and Peanut Butter. I ended up with Peanut Butter and since peanuts are on the “no deal” list for me, Darth Husband will be trying this one instead of me so I’ll give his thoughts on it. If I saw this in the stores and decided to try it, S’mores would be the flavor I would pick up first.


Disclaimer: I received these products complimentary from Influenster for testing purposes. All reviews within CSYA are my own and were not influenced by the company or individuals associated with the company.

 

Leave a Reply

