Girls’ Night with Jellybean Wines

I’m a firm believer in Girls’ Nights. Or should it be Ladies’ Nights since the majority of us are 30+? Either way, I believe in them and try to makes sure to have one every few months.  Yes, I see my friends more than every few months but for some with grad school, families, and life in general at times it isn’t as easy.

When I was contacted to try Jellybean Wines, it was a perfect chance to set up a wine night.  Since my friends and cousins are quite generous, I reminded then not to bring anything since Jellybean Wines generously sent FOUR bottles of wine.

boxJBW

This is also why I set up the wine night. It was a chance to do a low key wine tasting.

When I try a new wine, it is a pretty basic breakdown:

  • Do I like it?
  • Is the price reasonable?
  • Would I serve it for others?
  • Would I bring it somewhere else?

Since there were six of us taking part in the review*, I thought it would be better to go with a 5 star rating system.The system in How We Review Wine from A Taste of Wine that was perfect. It was EXACTLY what I knew would work with our group. We modified it slightly throughout the night and ended somewhat like this.

  • Five Stars: We’re definitely getting this wine again.
  • Four Stars: This is good, we’re getting this wine again.
  • Three Stars: Yeaaaahhh, we’d get this wine again.
  • Two Stars: Meh, but we might drink some if offered.
  • One Star: Noooo, you couldn’t pay us to get or drink this wine again.

I thought all the bottles looked really cute.  The bright and colorful labels were something that would catch my eye in the store. The fact that three of the four were screw top also helped. The wine opener went back in the box and back in the drawer!

The four wines that were sent were 2010 Jellybean Red Blend, 2011 Jellybean Moscato, 2011 Jellybean Bubbles, and 2011 Jellybean Moscato Rosé.  The info that I received with the wine listed the price as $9.99 each.

*I am starting with the 2011 Jellybean Bubbles since there were seven of us present when this was opened.  To be fair, it is technically not ranked with the others and the ratings are out of seven rather than six.

2011 Jellybean Bubbles

  • More from the website
  • Stars:
  • 2, 2, 2, 2, 2, 2, 1 for an average of 1.86
  • The bubbly aspect immediately made me think of the fizzy aspect of champagne. Since it seemed like almost everyone was thinking the same thing, I asked if anyone was a champagne person. None of us were big champagne people. I think this was a big factor in everyone’s reactions and if we had more champagne drinkers in the mix we would have gotten a different result. The details on the website mention peaches as part of the notes. A mellow flavor of peaches is what stood out most for me.

Our top wine was the 2011 Jellybean Moscato.

  • More from the website
  • Stars:
  • 3.5, 4.5, 3.5, 4, 4, 4 for an average of 3.92
  • This was my favorite of all the wines. I am a fan of white wines and those on the sweeter side. This was sweet but not not too sweet. I like when wines include apricot or lime and both are included in this one. I can see  buying this for myself, a gathering or for a gift.

2011 Jellybean Moscato Rosé

  • More from website
  • Stars:
  • 1, 4, 4,4, 3, 4.5 for an average of 3.42.
  • Most of the group liked this one as well. It again has apricot included so that would catch my attention just from the label.  I also liked that it had raspberry in the mix. I could see getting this wine as an accompanyment to a bottle of Moscato for a gathering.

2010 Jellybean Red Blend

  • More from the website
  • Stars:
  • 1,1,1,1,3,1 for an average of 1.34.
  • I was not a fan of this wine. I like Cabernet Sauvignon and Merlot so it must be the Tempranillo in this blend that I don’t. There was something slightly dry and slightly bitter to me. Only one person liked this wine and I can’t see myself buying this wine.

There is one wine, the Chardonnay, that was not included in the box but caught my attention. Due to the tropical description, if I see it in one of my local stores I’ll be picking up a bottle to try. There’s a good possibility then that I will share it at another Girl’s Night.

Overall we had a great night trying new wines thanks to Jellybean Wines!


Disclaimer: Complimentary products were included in this post. All reviews within CSYA are my own and those of my guests and were not influenced by the company or individuals associated with the company.

Leave a Reply

