Pita Chip Party: Wild Harvest Pita Chips

Nikabee and I have been friends since high school.  We try to get together for a knit night as much as possible. When Wild Harvest offered me the chance to try three of their new pita chip varieties (Sea Salt, Parmesan Garlic and Cinnamon Sugar) I invited her over for a pita party knit night. Quite a bit of rescheduling later, we both had a chance to check them out. Since she’s over at our house quite often, she’d be a good person to give me input and I could use this for future party snack ideas as well.

Pita chips are one of my go-to snack foods. Unlike potato chips, If I have a few I feel like I’ve actually eaten something and if I have a lot of them I don’t feel sick to my stomach.  Inviting Nikabee over also helped me from inhaling the bags in a day or so.

Since I was initially thinking that we’d try them with hummus, which we did that night, I opened the Cinnamon Sugar bag on my own one night. This was the first time I had a sweet pita chip. I was expecting something almost like a cookie. However, it was more a pita dusted with the cinnamon sugar than a pita infused with the flavor. I kept my opinions to myself later to not sway her thoughts on it.  We both agreed on them. We could taste the cinnamon sugar but it was a “no.” While I didn’t think anything was wrong with the flavor I think it is more so that sweet pita chips aren’t my thing.

Next we moved on to trying the Sea Salt pita chips.  If I had opened this one ahead of time, it’d be highly likely that there’d be none left. I usually like plain pita chips and this was one step in the flavored direction. We tried them both by themselves and with a plain hummus.

The Sea Salt pita chips were a hit.  There was a lot of nodding and a mix of comment/munch munch/comment. They had a good flavor that was clearly sea salt without being overpowering. You could easily see the sea salt. We both agreed that we could eat entire smallish sized bag in one sitting and that this would  be a crowd pleaser at parties .  Another thing is that when some people see “natural” it means more grainy wheat-y or with seeds and this might turn them off. These pita chips just tasted good.  The only downside was that this variety seemed to have more broken chips in the bag compared to the other two.

We forced ourselves to stop and move on to the Parmesan Garlic which we tried first alone and then with the hummus. When you opened the bag you could clearly smell garlic and the garlic flavor hit first.  There was more of a flavor aftertaste than the sea salt ones. There a tangy element to flavor that I thought perhaps was from the cheese but I couldn’t quite put my finger on it. With the hummus, the  garlic was toned down.  With the hummus, we both liked it but without the hummus the chips got a “probably” in terms of if we’d get them again. The flavor is kinda strong so if you like your snack foods to have a bit of a punch to them, then that is for you.

Nikabee made the point that she’d buy the Parmesan Garlic WITH the Sea Salt and bring them to a party with hummus. I totally agree with her because then people could try both together.  The two types complement each other quite well. If someone was wary of trying something new, both flavors are different without being too different.

The final ranking of the night:

  1. Sea Salt
  2. Parmesan Garlic
  3. Cinnamon Sugar

In the end, I am glad to have had the opportunity to try these new varieties. I’ve added the Sea Salt to my definite buying list (along with the amazing animal crackers) for Wild Harvest products.

Sidenote: I didn’t get photos that did the pita chips justice and rather than Photoshopping them in an attempt to make them work, I chose to omit them. They looked quite good in real life and quite sad in the photos.


Disclaimer: Complimentary products were included in this post. All reviews within CSYA are my own and were not influenced by the company or individuals associated with the company.

Leave a Reply

