Saving around $50 makes me happy

While I probably could have thought of a cheesier title that one just works because it is true.

Years ago when I had more spending money that I do now, I had a slight problem with Barnes & Noble.  The bargain bin would call my name and I would answer… leaving with at least two books… every other week or so.  It varied in topics from chic lit to bad chic lit to bios to cookbooks and so on and so forth.

Thing is, I really didn’t have that much room for them so it ended up taking over.  Thing is now I have the room and not the extra cash.

Cue Alanis Morissette….

Ahhhh nice cheese factor. I feel better.

Back to books…. so I have started keeping an eye out for books at garage sales/rummage sales and library sales. Realistically as long as they are in decent condition and don’t have some sort of funky smell, it’s a good deal.  Today I managed to get a paperback copy of Marley & Me and two hard cover Star Trek books for Darth Husband (and probably me as well someday) to read for a grand total of…

DUN

DUN

DUN

DUNNNNNN

$2.50

I think that is a pretty good deal since if it was cover price and tax it would have been over $50.  I read quite quickly and sometimes sporadically so this is a perfect fit.  I do still borrow books from the local library but this works quite well. There are no library fines or half read books having to go back.  I save money in general.

Now if only someone would get rid of Book 8 and onward of the Southern Vampire Mysteries/Sookie Stackhouse books.

A girl can dream.

Do you buy used books? Are there places by you where you can get a good deal on books or used books?

5 thoughts on “Saving around $50 makes me happy

  1. I can’t believe I stumbled across this post days after the bargain bin did just that. Not only did it call my name, loudly and insistently, it called me after I had already bought two new books so not only do I now have Magic Lost, Trouble Found and The Good, The Bad, and the Uncanny to read, I returned to the checkout counter and added One for My Baby to my bag and left with my wallet significantly lighter than when I went in.

    As for used books, here’s a little secret. Go to Habitat for Humanity. Yes, the place that builds houses for people! Some of them pay for building materials through a retail store called ReStore. Pass the lighting fixtures and door handles and the one by me has an entire wall of books. Each store works independently, but at mine you can get any book for fifty cents. Not all of the books there are gems, but don’t overlook them either. I found Dan Brown, Jodi Picoult, John Grisham, and Tom Clancy if you dig through the boxes that no one has had the time to sort yet.

    -Eliabeth Hawthorne

  2. Are you just looking to read those books or to actually own them? If it’s the former, you’re more than welcome to borrow my copies. If it’s the latter, sorry, I’m stingey. 🙂

Leave a Reply

