Guest post: My top 10 songs on my running playlist

With it being HLS weekend, I am currently running amuck (amuck amuck a la SJP in Hocus Pocus) in Philly. Since this weekend is all about the blends (blog friends) new and old, the kick-cats..I mean kick-ass Jess  is “taking over” for today’s post.


Hello CSYA readers!! I’m Jessica, mistress of the much-neglected lately food blog Black Cat Kitchen. You can also find me blogging & Tweeting at Deployment Divas, my health coaching business. I should be hanging with Krista at the Healthy Living Summit, but made an executive decision to stay home and save some money so I can pack all my worldly belongings next month and move from Wisconsin to NC. I am, however, living vicariously through her Tweets while stuck at work this weekend.

Originally I wanted to share a FABULOUS popsicle recipe using tea …. but it backfired. So, on to Plan B: My top 10 songs on my running playlist.

I love to run – and I swear, I never thought I’d say that. But, it’s a very good stress reliever for me. Here are a few favorites that come up when I’m running. (I’d say in no particular order, but … there *is* some semblance of order here ..) Promise you won’t judge? OK …

10 – “Run This Town” – Jay-Z & Rhianna – “Victory is within the mile. Almost there, don’t give up now.” 
9 – “One Step Closer” – Linkin Park – I have Krista to thank for this one – so perfect for so many reasons!
8 – “Jump Around” – House of Pain – I *do* live in Badger country.
7 – “Til I Collapse” – Eminem – My obligatory nod to Eminem (I promised Krista just one song on this list!). I just love the beginning of this song: “Cause sometimes you feel tired, feel weak, and when you feel weak, you feel like you wanna just give up. But you gotta search within you, you gotta find that inner strength and just pull that shit out of you and get that motivation to not give up and not be a quitter, no matter how bad you wanna just fall flat on your face and collapse.”
6 – “Bawitdaba” – Kid Rock – Cause, yeah. Just cause.
5 – “S&M” – Rihanna – “I may be bad, but I’m perfectly good at it.” – My life motto. Nuff said.
4 – “Bodies” – Drowning Pool – This song just makes me want to run hard.
3 – “Just Dance” – Lady Gaga – No reason, it’s just fun.
2 –  “Stronger” – Kanye West – “That that don’t kill me, only makes me stronger”
1 – “Push it” – Glee cast – “This dance ain’t for everybody – only the sexy people”

Now, get out there and dance. Dance, I say! HOLLA!
(Dance, run, whatever. So long as you move!)

Leave a Reply

